Committee on Academic Titleholder Representation¹

Preliminary Recommendations (September 12, 2018)

[For more details see these <u>slides</u> or the <u>committee website</u> where comments can be posted.]

R1-R2 The University Faculty basically consists of the tenured and tenure-track faculty (~1600) and the emeriti (~600). They are represented through the <u>Faculty Senate</u>. In the table below we define the "RTE Faculty" comprised of **R**esearch Faculty (~800), **T**eaching Faculty (~600), and **E**xtension Faculty (~200). Most of these individuals are represented through the <u>Employee Assembly</u>, a body that does not normally concern itself with academic matters. **Recognizing the common interests of the University and RTE Faculties, we recommend that the RTE Faculty be aligned with the Faculty Senate and that those with green titles be given voting rights. The voting RTE Faculty would be allowed to serve in the Senate and vote in elections that determine the Dean of Faculty, the Associate Dean of Faculty, the Faculty Trustees, the members of the University Faculty Committee, and the members of the Nominations and Elections Committee. [<u>More</u>]**

University Faculty	Research Faculty	Teaching Faculty	Extension Faculty
Professor (all ranks)	Research Professor (all ranks)	Professor Practice (all ranks)	(Senior) Extension Associate
Emeritus/a	(Principal) Research Scientist	Clinical Professor (all ranks)	
University Professor	Senior Scientist/Scholar	(Senior) Lecturer	
At-Large Professor	(Senior) Research Associate	Instructor	
	Librarian (all ranks)	Teaching Associate	
	Archivist (all ranks)		
	Visiting Critic		
	Visiting Scientist/Scholar/Fellow		
Acting/Courtesy/Visiting/Adjunct	Acting/Courtesy/Visiting	Acting/Courtesy/Visiting	

[Detailed Titleholder Numbers]

R3. An academic unit should be allowed to send a voting RTE Faculty member to the Senate. An RTE faculty member should be allowed to run for one of the existing at-large Senate seats. [<u>More</u>]

R4. Twenty Senate seats for voting RTE Faculty should be created and apportioned among the colleges and the library. It should be up to those units to select their RTE Senator(s). [<u>More</u>]

R5. An ex officio Senate seat for postdocs should be created to establish a channel of communication between that community (~500) and the Senate. Ex officio seats already exist for the SA, GPSA, and Employee Assembly. [<u>More</u>]

R6. There should be a 10-person *Committee on the Professional Status of the RTE Faculty* to consider such issues as recruitment, renewal, promotion, retention, professional development, and emeritus status. Two seats should be reserved for nonvoting members of the RTE faculty. [<u>More</u>]

R7. Voting RTE faculty should be allowed to serve on all standing committees of the Senate except (1) the Faculty Advisory Committee on Tenure Appointments, (2) the Academic Freedom and Professional Status of the Faculty, (3) the Faculty Committee on Program Review, and (4) the A.D. White Professor-At-Large Selection Committee. [More]

R8. Voting RTE Faculty should be allowed to vote in elections that determine membership of the University Faculty Committee and the Nominations and Elections Committee. The Chair of the Committee on the Professional Status of the RTE Faculty should be an ex officio member of those committees. [<u>More</u>]

R9. Voting RTE Faculty should be allowed to vote in elections for the Dean of Faculty, the Associate Dean of Faculty, and the Faculty Trustees. Those positions should be filled by members of the University Faculty. [<u>More</u>]

R10. The Employee Assembly should vote on a resolution that supports the alignment of all academic titleholders with Faculty Senate. The SA, GPSA, and UA should be given the opportunity to vote on that resolution. [<u>More</u>]

¹ <u>Adeolu Ademoyo, Stephane Bentolila, Elizabeth Bunting, Brenda Dietrich, Aliqae Geraci, Roger Gilbert, Kimberly Kopko, Bruce Lauber, Estelle McKee, Bruce Monger, Pilar Thompson, Charles Van Loan (Chair), and Makda Weatherspoon.</u>